Horizon 2020

Horizon 2020, the current EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation, has started on January 1, 2014. It connects seamlessly to the 7th EU Framework Programme for Research and unites all funding programmes of the European Commission relevant for research and innovation. During the next seven years, research and innovation will thus receive funding worth about EUR 70.2 billion (without Euratom). Horizon 2020 includes parts of the previous Competitiveness and Innovation Programme (CIP) as well as the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT).

Switzerland can participate in Horizon2020 either as a Third Country or as an Associated Country. For details see here.

Horizon 2020 consist of three priorities, namely:

  • Excellent Science covering support for curiosity-driven blue sky research - i.e. European Research Council (ERC) and Future Emerging Technologies (FET), research infrastructures as well as research careers and mobility through Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA);
  • Industrial Leadership providing support to industry and Small- and Medium Sized Enterprises (SME) in research and innovation activities, including instruments to foster development of enabling technologies as well as financial instruments (incorporating some parts of the former Competitiveness and Innovation Programme);
  • Societal Challenges supporting collaborative research projects that address seven specific societal challenges.

Horizon 2020 addresses researchers from universities, research organisations, enterprises, international special interest organisations and other legal entities of the EU Member States and the Associated States of the Framework Programme. Institutions from third countries are principally entitled to participate. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) have access to their own fast funding mechanisms in order to tap their specifically high innovation potential.

The following five programmes are also funded under the scheme of Horizon 2020: Fast Track to Innovation Pilot, Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation, Science with and for Society, European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) and Euratom.

Horizon 2020

Am 1. Januar 2014 ist Horizon 2020, das laufende Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation, gestartet. Es schliesst nahtlos an das 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm an und führt alle forschungs- und innovations-relevanten Förderprogramme der Europäischen Kommission zusammen. In den kommenden sieben Jahren wird damit Forschung und Innovation im Umfang von rund 70,2 Mrd. EUR gefördert (ohne Euratom). Mit eingeschlossen in Horizon 2020 sind Teile des bisherigen Competitiveness and Innovation Programms (CIP) sowie das European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT).

Die Schweiz kann an Horizon2020 als Drittstaat und als Assoziiertes Land teilnehmen. Was dies bedeutet, finden Sie hier.

Horizon 2020 setzt drei Prioritäten:

  • Excellent Science: Förderung von Grundlagen- und Pionierforschung, aber auch von Infrastrukturen sowie der Karriere und der Mobilität von exzellenten Forschenden. Förderinstrumente: Europäische Forschungsrat (ERC), künftig neu entstehende Technologien (Future Emerging Technologies, FET), Marie Skłodowska-Curie Massnahmen (MSCA), European Research Infrastructures, including e-Infrastructures;
  • Industrial Leadership: Förderung von Industrie- und Schlüsseltechnologien, sowie des Zugang zu Risikofinanzierung und Innovationen in KMU mit dem Ziel die industrielle und wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Europas stärken;
  • Societal Challenges: Förderung von interdisziplinären Forschungs-und Innovationsansätzen zur Bewältigung von sieben als gesellschaftspolitisch vorrangig definierten Herausforderungen.

Horizon 2020 richtet sich an Forscherinnen und Forscher von Hochschulen, Forschungsorganisationen, Unternehmen, internationalen Interessensorganisationen und andere Rechtspersonen der EU Mitglied-staaten und der im Rahmenprogramm assoziierten Länder. Auch Einrichtungen aus sogenannten Drittstaaten sind grundsätzlich teilnahmeberechtigt. Für Kleine und Mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) gibt es eigene schnelle Fördermechanismen, um ihr besonders hohes Innovationspotenzial auszuschöpfen.

Die folgenden fünf Programme werden auch unter Horizon 2020 gefördert: Fast Track to Innovation Pilot, Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation, Science with and for Society, European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) and Euratom.