COST - European Cooperation in Science and Technology

NEW:

When issuing the current message on the promotion of education, research and innovation 2017-2020, the Swiss government entrusted the SNSF with the operational management of COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology).

The SNSF will therefore be responsible for all COST-related matters as of 1 January 2017.

The minimum number of countries included in the network has increased to seven COST Full or Cooperating Members. Out of these seven, a minimum of three must be Inclusiveness Target Countries. For more details, please refer to the annex of the updated Submission, Evaluation, Selection and Approval (SESA) guidelines

COST is an intergovernmental and pan-European framework supporting trans-nationalcooperation among researchrs, enegineers and scholars across Europe.

COST is supported by the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation Horizon 2020. Switzerland is one of the founding members of COST. COST Actions are bottom-up science and technology networks. They consist in a range of networking tools, such as workshops, conferences, training schools, short-term scientific missions (STSMs), and dissemination activities. An Action implies a minimum participation of five COST member countries, Switzerland being one of them. COST Actions are frequently the precursors for successful projects in the EU Framework Programme. They can also foster synergies with and between EU-funded research projects. Researchers can continuously submit proposals for a new Action on the e-COST Portal through an open call. They can also join an existing COST Action: to this aim, they must contact the Swiss COST National Coordinator from the State Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) (see contact section on the right).

Project budget

The funding is provided via a yearly grant agreement. The average COST Action budget depends on the number of participating COST countries. Average support is 130.000 EUR per annum, based on a typical participation of 22 COST countries. Funding covers the costs of the above-mentioned networking tools. Note that the COST Association does not fund research itself.

COST Actions in Switzerland

Switzerland is a full member with all rights and duties of the intergovernmental initiative COST as well as of the COST Association. The SNSF is responsible for the national scientific and administrative management of COST. SNSF decides upon the participation of Switzerland to new Actions and makes Swiss COST credits available for funding coordination costs. They may partially support research costs related to a COST Action.

COST - Europäische Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der wissenschaftlichen und technischen Forschung

NEU:

Der Bund hat zeitgleich mit der neuen Botschaft zur Förderung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation 2017-2020 die operative Führung von COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) an den SNF übertragen.

Der SNF wird daher ab 1. Januar 2017 für alle Belange von COST zuständig sein.

Neu müssen mindestens sieben voll assoziierte Länder oder Kooperative Mitglieder in einem Konsortium sein, davon mindestens drei Inclusiveness Target Countries. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in  den „updated Submission, Evaluation, Selection and Approval (SESA) guidelines“.

COST bildet einen europaweiten zwischenstaatlichen Rahmen für die Koordination von Forschungsaktivitäten.

COST wird vom EU Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation Horizon 2020 unterstützt. Die Schweiz ist eines der Gründungsmitglieder von COST. COST-Aktionen sind bottom-up Forschungs- und Technologienetzwerke und beinhalten Netzwerkaktivitäten wie Workshops, Konferenzen, kurzweilige wissenschaftliche Missionen (short-term scientific missions, STSMs) und Disseminationsaktivitäten. Eine Aktion impliziert eine Mindestbeteiligung von fünf COST-Mitgliedsstaaten, wobei die Schweiz eine davon ist. COST-Aktionen sind häufig Vorläufer von erfolgreichen Projekten innerhalb der EU Rahmenprogramme. Darüber hinaus fördern sie auch Synergien innerhalb und zwischen EU-finanzierten Forschungsprojekten. Forscher können laufend Anträge für eine neue Aktion auf dem e-COST Portal einreichen mittels offener Ausschreibung. Sie können auch einer bereits existierenden COST-Aktion beitreten: dafür müssen sie sich mit der nationalen Koordinatorin für COST in der Schweiz beim Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) in Verbindung setzen (siehe Kontaktdaten rechts).

Projektbudget

Die Finanzierung wird über eine jährliche Förderungsvereinbarung geregelt. Das durchschnittliche COST-Aktionen-Budget ist abhängig von der Anzahl teilnehmender COST-Länder. Die durchschnittliche Unterstützung beträgt 130.000 EUR pro Jahr, typischerweise basierend auf der Teilnahme von 22 COST-Ländern. Die Finanzierung deckt die Kosten der oben erwähnten Netzwerkaktivitäten. Es ist wichtig zu erwähnen, dass die COST-Assoziation keine Forschungsaktivitäten finanziert.

COST Aktionen in der Schweiz

Die Schweiz ist ein vollständiges Mitglied der zwischenstaatlichen Initiative COST sowie der COST-Assoziation mit allen Rechten und Pflichten. Der Schweizerische Nationalfonds (SNF) ist verantwortlich für das nationale wissenschaftliche und administrative Management von COST. Der SNF entscheidet über die Teilnahme der Schweiz an neuen Aktionen und macht die Schweizer COST-Kredite zugänglich für die Finanzierungskoordination. Forschungskosten in Bezug auf COST-Aktionen werden nur teilweise vom SNF übernommen.