FP7 Structure

In general, FP7 consists out of six components: the four so-called specific programmes, Research and Training Actions in Euratom and the Joint Research Centre (JRC) founded to support the conception, the development, the performance and the supervision of EU policy.

The four specific programmes COOPERATION, IDEAS, PEOPLE, CAPACITIES as well as the Euratom-Actions are characterized by own priorities, individual work programmes as well as specific conditions for participation and proposal.

The JRC  is the scientific-technical research branch of the European Commission and therefore supports EU-Policy by providing advice and knowhow. Being a service supporter the JRC is responsible for the Commission‘s independence from private or public member state specific interests.